50 books like 50 Shades Of Grey - XX Chromosomes

Ads Top

50 books like 50 Shades Of Grey


If you are looking for books like 50 Shades of Grey, you are in the right place. I liked 50 Shades of Grey. I know it's very controversial and a lot of my readers have strong negative or positive opinion about it. One thing is for sure - hate it or love it this novel made the erotic romance genre one of the most popular. The movie was also a huge hit even if I didn't like it at all.
Many of you who finished it are searching for more books like it, but they have no idea where to find them. We have a few suggestions for you.

Update note: This post is updated on 11/29/2016. We added new books for you, completed the series that were in progress and replaced some old books with new ones. The list now have more than 50 books like Fifty Shades of Grey.

Books like 50 Shades of Grey

1-5. Crossfire Series
If you loved "50 Shades of Grey" you are going to fall in love with the Crossfire series. It's one of the most popular erotic genre series and many people rate it much higher than FSOG. If you are searching for books like 50 Shades of Grey you should start with this series. It's written by the Japanese-American writer Sylvia Day.
The Crossfire follow the love journey of Gideon and Eva. Eva Tramell is a young woman who is a survivor of childhood sexual abuse. She has a hard time trying to forget the past, when she meets Gideon. Gideon Cross is a young, handsome billionaire (The dream man, right?), who happens to be also a childhood sexual abuse survivor. It's their journey of trying to establish a healthy, beautiful relationship.
Crossfire series is considered by many as one of the best series in the erotic romance genre.

Crossfire series: Bared to you Crossfire series: Reflected in you Crossfire series: Entwined with You Crossfire series: Captivated by you Crossfire series: One with You

6. Story of O
Story of O
Before 50 Shades of Grey, this was THE book! "Story of O" by Pauline Reage is a brilliant novel, probably my favorite.
It's a classic story of a Parisian photographer who's in love with Rene. A love filled with psychological and sexual tests.
If you need a restart to your libido, that's the perfect book.
That book was my introduction into the world of erotic literature. I loved it and I think every fan of of "Fifty Shades" should read it.
Amazing book, brilliantly written, and heartbreaking at times. Some parts of the story may be shocking to some people, but at the end it's gonna blow your mind.


7-8. Beautiful Series
"Beautiful" by Jamie McGuire is a book series about Abby Abernathy and Travis Maddox. Abby is a good nerdy girl, and Travis is a covered with tattoos boy, spending his nights winning money in a fight ring.
Travis tricks Abby into his his full of troubles daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month, if she loses, she must live with Travis for the same amount of time.
In the first book you see the story through Abby's eyes, in the second through Travis'.

Beautiful disaster Walking disaster

9-11. Gabriel's Inferno Trilogy
I just finished reading the last one of the series "Gabriel's Inferno" by Sylvain Reynard. I absolutely loved it.
Gabriel Emerson is a handsome and attractive professor, a Dante specialist, tortured by his past.
When Julia Mitchell joins his seminar, they feel strong connection. A story of love, sins, redemption and sex.
The series was simply brilliant and amazing. After I finished the third book I still can't let Gabriel and Julia go. It's gonna take me a while to start reading a new book.
Gabriel's Inferno Gabriel's Rapture Gabriel's Redemption
                 
12-14. Phèdre's Trilogy
"Phèdre's Trilogy" written by Jacqueline Carey, isn't that well known but it's absolutely great. I just randomly picked the first book off the shelf of my local library and I was surprised how great it was. It's an epic fantasy about a land called Terre d'Ange, a place of beauty and grace, inhabited by mixed race of angels and men.
I wish I could get every "50 Shades Of Grey" fan to read these books. You are going to love it even more than FSG. Beautifully written and all the hot scenes are well put in the story. The scenes are kinkier and the female character is much stronger.
Kushiel's Dart Kushiel's Chosen Kushiel's Avatar

15. Pretty Stolen Dolls
Pretty Stolen Dolls
This is a new addition to our list. Pretty Stolen Dolls by Ker Dukey was released 2 months ago. In my opinion is a very promising start of series.
It's a dark, twisted and unique story. This is definitely not for everyone. It is a book that will keep you suspenseful the whole time.








16-21. On Dublin Street Series
I've only read the first book of "On Dublin Street" by Samantha Young, so far, but I'm planning to start reading the second one next week. I really loved the first book. It's about the American girl Jocelyn Butler, who moves to Edinburgh for a fresh start. She meets Braden Carmichael, a man who always gets what he wants, and this time he wants Jocelyn in his bed.
It has everything, romance, love, erotic, drama and humor. Personally I think "On Dublin Street" is better than "50 Shades Of Grey". Check by yourself.
On Dublin Street Down London Road Before Jamaica Lane
Fall from India Place Echoes of Scotland Street Moonlight on Nightingale Way

22-25. Thoughtless series
"Thoughtless" by S.C. Stephens is series about Kiera, a woman who has found her soulmate, the love of her life, everything she ever wanted. Everything is perfect until they move to a new city to start their life together. Unforeseen obligation forces the couple apart.
Lonely and confused, Kiera meets Kellan Kyle - a local rock star. At the beginning  they are just friends, but one night everything changes. They will never be the same.
Passionate and addicting series.
Thoughtless Effortless Reckless Untamed

26-29. Up In The Air Series
"Up In The Air" is a story about the flight attendant Bianca and how her life changes after she meets the billionaire hotel owner James. From the first time she sees him, she knows she's attracted to him.
It seems like the typical crush-on-billionaire erotica but it's really much more.
There's a lot of kinky, dominant, BDSM sex in this series, but the character development and the great plot is the best part.
"Up In The Air" is one of the most underrated series of the genre. It's hot, it's deep, it's witty and brilliantly written. It has a special place on my bookshelf. It's a must-have if you are a fan of the genre.
In Flight Mile High Grounded Mr. Beautiful

30-34. Inside Out Series
"Inside Out" by Lisa Renee Jones is very unique series. The story is about Sara McMillan who finds erotic journal entries written by mysterious woman. Unable to stop reading, she starts living with these dark fantasies until the shocking end of the journal.
The plot of the series is my favorite. Not only that the story is well written and unique, but Lisa Renee Jones managed to keep it sexy. I've read somewhere, a review by someone saying that "Inside Out" is like "Fifty Shades" combined with "Basic Instinct".
If I Were You Being Me Revealing Us No in Between I Belong to You

35-37. The Dark Duet Trilogy 
If you want more books like Fifty Shades of Grey you just can't skip "The Dark Duet Trilogy". Okay, "The Dark Duet" is a bit different from all the series I listed above. It is more dark, even scary.
It's about the 18 year old Olivia, who has just woken up in a unknown place. She's blindfolded and bound.
She's kidnapped by Caleb, a man who was kidnapped as a young boy and sold into slavery. Now he's seeking a revenge by kidnapping young women and train them to be all that he once was. BDSM, erotica, romance? I can't really say the exact genre of the trilogy. It is darker than "Fifty Shades" and if you really like it that way, you are going to fall in love with these books.
Captive in the Dark Seduced in the Dark Epilogue 

38-40. This Man Trilogy
A series that was recommended to me by many people while I was searching for books like 50 Shades of Grey. A friend told me that "This Man" is like Fifty Shades...on crack... Kinkier and more weird. Fair enough, I like weird stuff, so, that was the first series that I started reading after I finished Fifty Shades Of Grey.
Ava is 26yo interior designer, who is sent by her boss for a job at "The Mansion". She believes that "The Mansion" is a hotel, but it's quite obvious what's going on in there. She meets the owner, Jesse Ward, and there's an instant connection between two of them.
I loved the books, although I still don't know how to feel about Jesse... Is he a lunatic? Is he sweet? Or does he has a mental illness...
This Man Beneath This Man This Man Confessed

41-45. Dollar series
This is probably the most exciting romance series at the moment. Dollar by Pepper Winters is another one of her dark series. Most of you may know her from Monsters in The Dark. Dollar is so dark that it will blow your mind. Not a read for everyone.
Pennies Dollars Hundreds Thousands Millions

46. Strangers
Strangers by Barbara Elsborg
"Strangers" by Barbara Elsborg is a wonderful story about how an attempted suicide brings two people together. It's a must-read! A fantastic story, a great dialog and a lot of... sex scenes. Hot, passionate sex scenes. I cried and I laughed with "Stranger" and I liked it more than FSG. One of the best books on my list, and definitely one of my favorites, ever!
It had a great impact on me. At the time, when I read it, I was feeling a bit depressed and reading that fantastic story definitely helped me fixing my bad mood. I remember staying up late because I just couldn't put the book down.
47-50. Cocktail Series
Cocktail Series by Alice Clayton is brilliant for the lovers of Fifty Shades of Grey. Alice always has the perfect mix of sexy and funny in her books.
It's a story about Caroline, a girls who just moved to a new apartment in San Francisco. Her walls are so thin that she can hear her neighbor "having fun" with different women every night. Caroline is single, so, you know... she starts to fantasize.
The books are sexy, hot, funny and cute. I loved it!
Wallbanger Rusty Nailed Screwdrivered Mai Tai'd Up


If this list is not enough for you, you can always check our 50 must-read erotic romance novels.

You can add more in the comment section bellow!
What's your opinion of Fifty Shades of Grey?[left-sidebar] 







4 comments:

  1. You should add the books Beautiful Bastard, Beautiful Stranger (there are others but I havent read them) by Christina Lauren. Afterburn & Aftershock by Sylvia Day is also a good book. The series by Kristen Proby Play With Me, Rock With Me, Fight With Me. Twisted and the male POV Tangled by K. A. Linde are funny and really good for this category though I dont think it goes with the 50 shades thing but I recommend it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. im a fan of maya banks she writes great series in this genre and you just keep on reading them

    ReplyDelete
  3. You should also add Meredith Wild's Hacker series. It's really good too. I couldn't put the books down.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thank you so much!! This is a terrific list! I'd also recommend the Addicted series (especially about Conner and Rose) by Krista Ritchie, The edge of never by jessica redmerski, and the coincidence series (especially about Luke and Violet) by Jessica Sorenson, the butterfly collector and other books by Kimberly Steele, and the submissive series by Sylvia Day.

    ReplyDelete

Powered by Blogger.